Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 09-13-2010, 10:50 AM
2many22's

TPC Rating: 
100% (16)
Reloading presses ????

Just got started reloading. I started off with the Lee Anniversary Kit. No complaints on that. (given my working novice knowledge)
But I am already planning on getting another press to go with my single stage. I will be using the second for loading pistol ammo (and possibly .243 in the future).
What I need is help in knowing benefits/downfalls of turret versus progressive presses. What is the difference between the 2 and how is one better than the other. I am looking at Lee presses again. A new progressive starts about $150 for caliber specific. They seem to have good quality and have been around a long time.
Thanks ahead for all the input....
Old 09-13-2010, 11:16 AM
xarmcav
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I have been reloading for about 3 years, and recently started casting bullets. All of my reloading is done single stage on a LEE O-frame press. Almost all of my equipment is LEE, and I'm happy with it. I have no experience with a progressive press, but I have read and heard bad things about the LEE progressives, especially the cheaper one you refer to. Actually from what I've read all the progressives have one problem or another. I have read good things about LEE's turret press. You can go to youtube and see videos of various reloading presses, and you can read reviews everywhere. Two of the guys I work with use the Hornady lock-n-load only complaining about the primer feeder and cost of shell plates. Hope this is of some help. Good Luck.
Old 09-13-2010, 11:29 AM
xarmcav
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)