A17 scope adjustment wont go high enough - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2020, 07:14 PM
wranglerdoug

Join Date: 
Oct 2010
Posts: 
53
TPC Rating: 
100% (17)
A17 scope adjustment wont go high enough



Log in to see fewer ads
I bought a used A17 had a 2-7 vortex scope shoots great with that scope but I want to put an A17 scope on it.Cant get it to go high enough I have tried 4 different scopes and none will go high enough tried different rings also.Was thinking about a 20 moa scope base will that help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2020, 01:14 PM
HARDBALLER

Join Date: 
Dec 2007
Posts: 
234
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
How low does the rifle shoot at 100 yards after you have maxed out the elevation turret? you might try shimming the rear ring by inserting a couple of small strips of aluminum on the bottom of the scope tube and the bottom half of the ring. Not trying to be insulting because I have done this myself but are you moving the elevation turret where it's suppose to go?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2020, 05:42 PM
Super-X 1's Avatar
Super-X 1
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Aug 2004
Location: 
Ohio
Posts: 
112
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Are you using the replaceable ballistic dial for the initial sight-in? It limits the full travel of the elevation knob. Remove it and sight-in. Put the dial on afterwards.

I assume that you have the Bushnell A 17 3.5-10 x 36mm scope.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-2020, 10:26 PM
wranglerdoug

Join Date: 
Oct 2010
Posts: 
53
TPC Rating: 
100% (17)
Yes its an A17 bushnell scope At 50 yards I am 2" low with up maxed out tried to shim with aluminum pop can strip and didn't make much of a change.I ordered a 20 moa base and hopefully that will get me where I need to be.It shoots great just to low The only scope that works is a vortex 2-7 crossfire I tried a 3-9 vortex and it shot to low .Thought about selling it but its to accurate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2020, 10:27 PM
wranglerdoug

Join Date: 
Oct 2010
Posts: 
53
TPC Rating: 
100% (17)
I did not have the ballistic dial on it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2020, 02:54 AM
Super-X 1's Avatar
Super-X 1
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Aug 2004
Location: 
Ohio
Posts: 
112
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Sorry, I haven't been here for awhile. I had a similar issue and it was corrected after I sighted in without the ballistic dial installed. I shimmed the mount, which fixed it but figured out the true issue. I discovered the limits on the elevation dial afterward.

I have several of these scopes, since CDNN has them for $49.99, it is hard to pass up. Certainly a best buy. Have been happy with them.

Hope you get this resolved to your satisfaction.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2020, 10:04 AM
cmatera
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Aug 2011
Location: 
CO
Posts: 
331
TPC Rating: 
50% (1)
I had issues with one scope I tried to mount on a 17HMR. I shimmed and got it to work, but did not like how much shimming was involved, and worried about it staying put. A 20 moa rail and Burris Signature XTR rings with the rotatable inserts fixed the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2020, 12:33 PM
Nick7274's Avatar
Nick7274
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! GOA Member

Join Date: 
Dec 2016
Location: 
Central Ma.
Posts: 
3,433
TPC Rating: 
100% (12)
The 17HMR is a fairly flat shooting round out to 100 yards. You shouldn't run out of adjustment with any scope which makes me think there might be a problem with the rifle somewhere. Maybe the bases weren't machined right or something along those lines.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2020, 04:36 PM
pipestone
US Marines Veteran

Join Date: 
Jan 2008
Location: 
Montana
Posts: 
1,450
TPC Rating: 
100% (21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick7274 View Post
The 17HMR is a fairly flat shooting round out to 100 yards. You shouldn't run out of adjustment with any scope which makes me think there might be a problem with the rifle somewhere. Maybe the bases weren't machined right or something along those lines.

Very true here


Maybe your shooting way out there

Let us know how you solve your issue


pipestone
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2020, 09:16 AM
DRob's Avatar
DRob
Law Enforcement Officer NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
May 2003
Location: 
Indy
Posts: 
3,086
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Elevation

Hope that 20 MOA base does the trick. Some time ago, I started using Burris Signature rings with the plastic inserts which are self-aligning Fixed a lot of alignment issues with no risk of damaging the scope. As for shimming one ring............Not a great idea. If you raise one ring you have created a mis-alignment which can damage the scope tube when you tighten the rings. At the very least, the scope tube will be canted downward in one ring and upward in the other.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-26-2020, 09:50 AM
1afox's Avatar
1afox
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Mar 2013
Location: 
VA
Posts: 
124
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I had the same issue with a different brand scope. I swapped the rings (front to back) and it fixed the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-26-2020, 07:02 PM
BigBull301's Avatar
BigBull301
Emergency Medical Technician NRA Member - Click Here To Join! GOA Member

Join Date: 
Apr 2016
Location: 
Idaho
Posts: 
107
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Swap the rings front to back. Mine had the same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-26-2020, 10:35 PM
Signalman's Avatar
Signalman is online now

Moderator
Join Date: 
Jan 2012
Location: 
On the Westside
Posts: 
11,246
TPC Rating: 
100% (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wranglerdoug View Post
I bought a used A17 had a 2-7 vortex scope shoots great with that scope but I want to put an A17 scope on it.Cant get it to go high enough I have tried 4 different scopes and none will go high enough tried different rings also.Was thinking about a 20 moa scope base will that help.
wranglerdoug sir my older brother bought a Savage A-17 rifle and he too had a big time problem with trying to get his scope sighted in so he bought bases for his rifle and that fixed the problem. I would start there...it's cheaper than rings or scopes. He has 2x A-17s and 2x A-22s and I think he changed all of them. I hope this helps...you should not be running out of room.

Signalman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Privacy Policy

DMCA Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2018 RimfireCentral.com
x