Safes And RSC's, An Overview - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 12-13-2013, 08:11 AM
CB900F
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Safes And RSC's, An Overview

Fella's;

I'm now retired, but I was a professional locksmith and specialized in safe sales. What follows is my take on gun storage containers. Please feel free to PM me with questions.

There is a great dividing line in the home safe industry. On one side lies what the mass marketers call a safe, which U.L. calls an RSC. On the other are the true safes. RSC is an Underwriter’s Laboratory rating for Residential Security Containers. It’s their polite way of saying “tin box”. There is no national construction standard for protective containers. I could scotch tape six of my business cards together, put a pin across a corner & sell it to the public as a “safe” if I cared to do so. My business card “safe” would be an unrated unit. There are many unrated units on the market and they fill a need for a low-cost metal cabinet that locks. However, they should not be thought of as secure. A motivated ten year old could possibly compromise one.