Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 06-09-2019, 10:48 AM
wonderdog1
US Navy Veteran

TPC Rating: 
100% (4)
Just curious

How many have switched from the 17 hmr. to the 17 wsm. for there go to gun for PD, ground squirrel, and other small pests?

I dearly love my 17 hmrs. and have shot thousands of rounds through them. Recently l purchased a 17 wsm. and was blown away at the difference between the two calibers. I have only used it on one outing, but am really impressed. The 17 wsm ammo isnít that much higher and is well worth the extra performance, IMO.

I would be interested in hearing others opinions and experiences.

Wonderdog1
Old 06-09-2019, 01:47 PM
B23
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I've had my Savage 93/17 HMR HB SS thumbhole the longest. Then I bought my HB SS Bmag 17 WSM a few years ago. Once I started shooting my 17 WSM on ground squirrels my 17 HMR instantly become a backup or loaner gun.

When Savage came out with the A17 it looked like it would be a fun little gun so I picked up one of those and even though my A17 shoots very well, it's mostly just a plinker/fun gun.

If I could only keep one of the three, it would be an easy choice and it would be my Bmag 17 WSM.
Old 06-09-2019, 03:44 PM
wonderdog1
US Navy Veteran

TPC Rating: 
100% (4)
B23, only after the one outing, l totally agree. I just wasnít sure if it was just the new gun thing or not. A close friend got a wsm last year and really liked it. He used it exclusively on one shoot we went on and didnít even take his hmr out of the case. That is when l decided to take the plunge. My brother and another friend couldnít resist either.

We are going on a WY. ground squirrel shoot in July and l hope my opinion doesnít change. The down side to this though, is l have a lot of 17 hmr. ammo stock piled and a 17 Hornet with several rounds also. I guess itís a good problem to have.

Thanks for your input.

Wonderdog1
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-09-2019, 04:55 PM