My Crosman MTR77 NPC with G.I. Peep Sights - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 01-01-2018, 08:12 PM
aom22
US Air Force Disabled American Veteran Law Enforcement Officer NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
My Crosman MTR77 NPC with G.I. Peep Sights

... ...
Some months ago, I purchased two Crosman MTR77 NPC from New England Airguns.
John Swenson is the owner and he tuned the trigger of each rifle.
Being a Correctional Officer I intended to use the MTR77s for marksmanship training in my backyard.

For my purposes, the MTR77 is a mixed bag.
The MTR77 certainly looks-the-part of a military rifle ... but, it really isn't a replica.
Nothing about the MTR77 parallels the functionals of an AR-15/M-16 except the magazine release - that's about it.
And, with all of the exterior surfaces being plastic, the MTR77 was significantly below the weight of a full-size AR-15/M-16 rifle.

However, with a few changes the MTR77 comes very close to the look and feel of an AR-15/M-16.
To this end, with the addition of some aftermarket Leaper's G.I. peep sights.
And, filling the detachable magazine with 14 1/2 ounces of lead fishing weights
The MTR77 comes as close to the visual profile and heft of an H-bar AR-15/M-16.
Or, as least as near a total of $200 for a gas-ram break-barrel air rifle with trigger mods, aftermarket sights and lead ballast will allow.

Standing Offhand
3-Shots at 20 yards
POA ... Approximately 1-Inch Target (Small Pecan)
CPHP 7.9 grs
My intended targets are one-inch pecans situated at various distances.
Placed at 10-yards, a one-inch target will subtend a 10-inch round target at 100-yards.
Using this as a standard, I employ the plentiful pecans to mimic a 10-inch point-of-aim at useful practice ranges.
I have backstops set at 5-yards, 8-yards, 10-yards, 10-meters, 15-yards and 20-yards.