Some good quality 22 LR shootout/comparison/review using a Marlin Model 60! - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 12-19-2018, 03:39 PM
StevieTimes

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Some good quality 22 LR shootout/comparison/review using a Marlin Model 60!

I am a newbie; I just started shooting in the last couple of years. I used to shoot BB guns as a kid; my Marlin Model 60 was the first "real" firearm I ever owned. I love it, I haven't been disappointed one bit. I have a MCARBO trigger and spring kit installed, as well as their high-velocity recoil spring. I use a bipod from Amazon.

I have proven over and over that I'm not a good enough shot to make really good ammo worth my while; but darn it, I wanted to know how some of these "fancy" brands shoot in my rifle. So without further ado...

I went out and bought some fanciness. These are the prices per round that I personally got:

CCI Blazer 0.0450 Brownell
Aguila 0.0782 Cheaper than dirt
Fiocchi "320" 0.2198 Brownell
Eley Match 0.2198 PSA
Eley Edge 0.2398 Brownell

The plan is to take 50 rounds each; use a few rounds getting the scope dialed in, then send the rest 50 yards down range. I tried to be really accurate, especially at first; but c'mon guys, I wasn't using a bench, and I'm a newbie, so I like to blam blam a little, so maybe I squeezed the trigger a little more rapidly than I should have at times. It was fun, sue me.

Here is the setup:
01 - the setup.jpg

I put a target on each end that was "neutral", for me to dial in the scope. I also would use the "upper" smaller targets, if I was close, for dialing it in. Those don't count.

Here is the proof of who showed up at the party (sorry, didn't have time to get the CCI green tag out):
02 - the suspects.jpg