Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

NRA Classification

21K views 28 replies 17 participants last post by  Steeveedee 
#1 ·
Just a question for all you NRA shooters.
How long have you been shooting?
What classification have you reached?
The reason for the questions is many new shooters what to shoot Expert or even Master scores right out of the box. As I help new shooters I try to tell them set your goals small and you will progress. Shooting is mostly in your head if you don't have to think when you shoot you will be better off.

To answer my own question I have been shooting a little over 20 years and I'm on the verge of my Master class O so close but yet so far.

#2 ·
I have been shooting for about 40 years, got into bulls eye and conventional shooting about 5 years ago. Qualified as Expert with a Ruger Black Hawk .357/.38 and use a MK II Gov Target Mod for the Postal League, I finished 1st last year and am currently in second for our club (about 30-40 shooters total)

#3 ·
I would be one of the guilty parties that lilski is referring to, as far as wanting to shoot world class scores as a beginner (and I drive him nutz with it at every opportunity!).
This is my first Bullseye season and my scores have climbed steadily.
I'll finish the year with an average in the low 230's, with my high being a 254. I'll definitely work hard (and practice more) to obtain the next step in classification.

#4 ·
Been shooting over fourty years....

Expert in my passions...........bullseye and 4 position.

tinkering with master in bullseye but not yet.

never did qualifications in rimfire benchrest but when I have the patience to do a green meanie without swattin flies half way through, high master although the wind has been tuff lately.

Regards,
Cranky

#6 ·
As a pretty "average" shooter I took up the Pistol Qualification challenge early last year. Blew through the Basic Practical, Pro-Marksman, Marksman, levels in one session using my existing abilities.