Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 03-30-2021, 05:11 PM
sanarchy

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Henry 001 accuracy

I'm new to henry but its been on my 'to buy' list for a while. Bought one used for a decent price but when I took it to range I found 2 problems. First I had a few rounds that were lodged in the carrier and second, it shot terribly. At 15 yards I was all over the target and at 50 I couldn't hit paper. Though I bought it used, its in a very good condition with no signs of abuse. I believe it was manufactured in 2018. WTH could be done to a rifle to cause it to shoot like that?
Old 03-30-2021, 07:31 PM
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Dirty? Bad crown? Clean it , and try again. I like to use Hornady one Shot Dri lube after ive cleaned my guns.

If that doesnt work call Henry, theyll make it right.
Old 03-30-2021, 08:05 PM
sulfur-n-steel

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Rounds lodged while using the lever, or loading?

Original sights on it or previous owner replaced?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-30-2021, 08:46 PM
slickshot223
Fire FighterEmergency Medical Technician NRA Member - Click Here To Join! GOA Member

TPC Rating: 
100% (28)
Wink Could be?????

Check the magazine tube for burrs, best way to find them is a dry cotton ball down thru the tube!
Then scrub the bore till you think you have it clean, then clean it some more!! Lots of solvent and a brass brush should "get the lead out" !! LOL
Let us know ??
Old 03-30-2021, 09:18 PM
alro41
US Marines Veteran

TPC Rating: 
100% (7)
I had a Henry .22 mag pump years ago that was somewhat like this. Ended up sending it back and getting a lever action. But regarding accuracy, keep in mind that the receiver cover is just that - a cover and that is what your scope is mounted on. I put a straight edge on mine and the scope mounting grooves did not line up with the barrel. Couldn't get on paper a 7yds. May or may not be part of the problem.