Converting Plain Iron Pistol Sights to Three Dot Sights - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 10-22-2017, 04:00 PM
DrGunner
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! UotM

TPC Rating: 
100% (2)
Converting Plain Iron Pistol Sights to Three Dot Sights

Hey Gang- Time for another overkill description- this time it’s about how I mod pistol iron sights!

I recently acquired a Sig Trailside for my kids to shoot, and it’s quite accurate. I’ve been shooting iron sights for over 40 years. My kids (daughter 9, son 12) are just learning the ropes shooting pistols.

The Trailside comes from the factory with black irons and a rather wide front post.
While I have no trouble with this sight configuration, I do find fiber optic and three dot sights easier to use and experience more consistent aim in my hands.
My kids definitely struggled with plain irons with a wide front sight
post. The subtle nuances of shooting irons and how to visualize the sides of the front post to avoid inducing yaw are not the easiest concepts to impart. My kids are used to rifle iron sights which often feature a smaller front post which is made to look even smaller as a result of the larger sight radius, allowing for more precise aiming, especially for new- or younger, less experienced shooters.

My solution for all black irons, especially those featuring a wide front post, is to convert the existing irons to a standard 3-dot system.

Doing so is relatively easy and inexpensive, and when done properly, produces a very clean, professional looking result that dramatically reduces target/sight acquisition time while also allowing for a much more precise point of aim than plain irons.

OK- here comes the WARNING and DISCLAIMER.