Suggestions Comments on my next plinker rifle - nothing high end here - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 05-25-2020, 11:14 AM
marvin02

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Suggestions Comments on my next plinker rifle - nothing high end here

I saw the thread "Need suggestions on my next high-end 22lr rifle purchase" and it gave me inspiration for this thread.

I am new to shooting, it will be one year in a few days. I have two 10/22s and an M&P 15-22. The 15-22 has a red dot, one of the 10/22s has a scope (which I have not tried yet), and the other 10/22 has a receiver mounted peep sight. I use the sighted 10/22 and the 15/22 for shooting steel challenge and rimfire challenge matches.

I am looking to potentially add another. Here is what I am looking at:

Winchester Wildcat

Has anyone here actually shot one of these? Kind of interesting from the takedown aspect.

Thompson Center T/CR22

A supposedly "better" 10/22. Is it?

Henry Small Game Rifle or Carbine

Satisfies two ares of curiosity. Lever action and tube fed.

Marlin 60

Along with the 10/22 this rifle seems like it is required ownership.

I have no need for another rifle - but that never stops a good obsession. I like learning about the various guns that I have bought in the last year and like trying things that are different. The reason I bought the 15-22 was because it is about as different as possible from the 10/22 I started with. The Winchester Wildcat and T/CR22 and both very similar to the 10/22, so while interesting they are not as desirable to me, but informed input may change that opinion.

So what's your input?

Other suggestions welcome. Maybe this thread will help someone else who is looking at rifles with lower cost, but still with a high fun factor.
Old 05-25-2020, 11:15 AM
marvin02

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Buy them all and try them.

There I took care of that response.
Old 05-25-2020, 11:22 AM

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)