Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 09-07-2019, 09:58 PM
Gripen
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! Appleseed Rifleman

TPC Rating: 
97% (27)
Attended my first Appleseed today

I first heard about Project Appleseed years ago, but was never really motivated to attend a shoot until the NRA convention last year, where I ran across the Appleseed booth, talked for a while, and signed up for a shoot. Enough life happened afterwards that I wasn't able to go, so I rescheduled...then rescheduled...then couldn't attend due to a family illness. Earlier this year I decided I needed some formal shooting instruction, since I'm a pretty good self-taught shooter but am not exactly a great shot by any means. So I signed up for a shoot in March or thereabouts, more life happened, I rescheduled again....and then the event I was going to attend got rained out! And so at long last, I was finally able to attend my first Appleseed today.

It was a one-day event, and a very long, hot and exhausting day it was. But the instructors were great, and I definitely think it helped improve my shooting. Probably due to heat and tiredness, I actually did better on my first redcoat target (cleared 100, 200, and 400 yards, and missed one on the 300 by a hair - missed the square though) than on the second (only cleared 100 and 200).

My first AQT I really screwed up: I shot pretty well, and would have scored right around 210....except that my first seven shots were on my neighbor's target. He did well too and would probably have made Rifleman if I hadn't messed us both up.