Filling Mark II stock with lead? - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2019, 08:39 AM
ohiohunter2019

Join Date: 
Jan 2019
Posts: 
33
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Filling Mark II stock with lead?



Log in to see fewer ads
I have a Mark II FV that is still sporting the plastic stock and I think this is causing my accuracy issues. When I use a front Caldwell rest the rifle has a slight jump and makes it hard to shoot accurately. I was wondering would filling the buttstock with lead and foam be an issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2019, 09:56 AM
Basrem is online now

Join Date: 
Mar 2011
Posts: 
1,007
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Go for it let us know

Sent from my LM-X410.FGN using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2019, 10:28 AM
gcrank1's Avatar
gcrank1

Join Date: 
Apr 2018
Location: 
south central WI, USA
Posts: 
3,412
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Fwiw, lead shot mixed with carpenter's glue (think Elmer's white glue) poured in can be made up in 'layers' to get the balance and weight that works for you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-2019, 01:19 PM
Fasteddie01's Avatar
Fasteddie01

Join Date: 
Aug 2017
Location: 
Canada
Posts: 
35
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Just a suggestion - put a plastic bag in first to line the space, then you can remove the 'filling' if you want to reduce it. The glue is a great idea, but I would fill the bag with shot first to get the proper weight, then add glue to keep it in place.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2019, 03:21 PM
gcrank1's Avatar
gcrank1

Join Date: 
Apr 2018
Location: 
south central WI, USA
Posts: 
3,412
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Good Point
You can prove the concept with the weight in the bag and some stuffing to hold in place then 'solidify the idea' later.

Last edited by gcrank1; 10-18-2019 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2019, 09:32 PM
IanC's Avatar
IanC

Join Date: 
Dec 2005
Location: 
Ontario
Posts: 
103
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Savage

I have done what your wondering about with a Savage Mark II F. The first thing i did was take some emery paper and open up the channel in the forend so the barrel was no longer touching. Then since i reload .38 i placed several slugs in the forend and secured them with hot glue until i got the weight just right. There is no longer any jump at it groups much better. I filled the butt with plastic bags to get rid of the hollow noise but if you wanted to you could also put in some long bolts or extra .22 rounds to add weight. I never really found i needed to add to the butt stock.

Have fun and happy shooting.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2019, 11:21 AM
xXDarkside13Xx

Join Date: 
Oct 2019
Posts: 
4
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I've been where you are now (used to post under a different name before the new forum change, I forget what my username and password were so I created a new account). I had a MKII FV, an older model with the barrel step, before they started using the same receiver for both LR and magnum rifles. The synthetic stocks on those rifles are horrible for anything except offhand open sight use. The comb on the stock is too low to use with a scope unless you add some padding (I used duct tape and cut up foam padding). On top of that, I could grab the pistol grip with one hand and the fore-end with the other and basically twist the stock around the rifle. Shooting from a bipod was an exercise in frustration, and from bags the only way I could get a decent group at POA was to put the front bag under the magazine.
I ended up going with a wooden target stock from Richard's Microfit.

I added weight to a stock on my 700ADL 243, and ended up messing up the balance of the rifle.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2019, 11:55 AM
gcrank1's Avatar
gcrank1

Join Date: 
Apr 2018
Location: 
south central WI, USA
Posts: 
3,412
TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
This is general info, just sos ya knows:
That model was the earlier Pre-E receiver, the E became the one size fits all. The Pre-E came in std trigger and Accutrigger, dont know if the E came with a std.
I didnt know there was a diff until I tried buying some aftermarket bits .
Mine is the Pre-E c/w Accutrigger which is diff from the E Accutrigger, too.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-21-2019, 12:26 PM
xXDarkside13Xx

Join Date: 
Oct 2019
Posts: 
4
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcrank1 View Post
This is general info, just sos ya knows:
That model was the earlier Pre-E receiver, the E became the one size fits all. The Pre-E came in std trigger and Accutrigger, dont know if the E came with a std.
I didnt know there was a diff until I tried buying some aftermarket bits <img src="https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/images/smilies/frown.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Frown" class="inlineimg" />.
Mine is the Pre-E c/w Accutrigger which is diff from the E Accutrigger, too.
Mine was the same, "Pre-E with accutrigger". After putting it in the stock, messing with shimming the scope base (one piece EGW) and putting the scope on it (6-24 tasco target/varmint, after I finally got a good one), I sold it down the road.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Privacy Policy

DMCA Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2018 RimfireCentral.com
x