Premium & Non Premium Ammo Measurments - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 04-15-2019, 03:24 PM
ouc

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Premium & Non Premium Ammo Measurments

I have a 1710 HB that likes Lapua Center X 22 LR more then the higher priced Lapuas, Eleys, or WRS R50. I've read on this site many times that one should only use premium ammo because of the tighter tolerances of these Anschutz rifles. This made me wonder how much different other ammo might be size wise and if all I've read is true. Putting aside that premium subsonic ammo is more accurate and more consistent, I decided to measure some ammo to see how much they all differ. See my notes in the photo.

Used my Mitutoyo micrometer in inches. I don't see any significant size difference that should cause trouble using non premium ammo but I'm not an expert. Is there something I might be missing? Maybe higher pressures?

Just curious as I wouldn't mind trying super sonic ammo to see what happens.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BL.jpg (316.2 KB, 47 views)
Old 04-15-2019, 03:37 PM
Penage Guy

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Are the measurements for each different ammo an average of measurements of a certain number of rounds? That is to say, are the measurements of one example of each kind of ammo or an average of, say, ten for example?

As far as recommendations for using premium ammo, of which there are many varieties and prices, some ammo like CCI SV often do not chamber as easily in Anschutz match rifles and even some sporters. The driving band is long and this makes it harder to push fully into the chamber, with the characteristic result that the bolt is harder to close. Additionally, and no less importantly, many Anschutz users recommend using premium ammo in order to get the best out of a rifle that has a premium price tag. Using bulk ammo in an Anschutz is like putting regular gasoline in a high performance Porsche.
Old 04-15-2019, 04:02 PM
ouc