Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > > >

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 08-01-2011, 08:52 PM
Leatherneck
US Marines Disabled American Veteran

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Whats the story???

How many times on this forum have I read"My rifle likes"in my case my 1 model 60 shoots CCI SV like top of the line target ammo, but the other 1 sprays them all over the county.My Glenfield likes mini mags and Federal American Eagle,my old stevens 66B likes winchester bulk.
We all take it for granted that each rifle has its own favorites BUT WHY? The rifles I have (the Marlins) come from the same factory ,made on the same machines,and for the most part made by the same people so why the big difference in the fodder that they prefer? Not that this is the most pressing question of the age but does anyone have an answer?
Leatherneck
Old 08-01-2011, 09:45 PM
JAB
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I have little knowledge of how barrels are made, but here is my guess. Even though the barrels were made on the same machinery, the tooling wears Down, cutting at slightly different sizes. Combine that with different bullet makers or even lots you would have slightly different specs. So you have to find the best bullet and load for your barrel.

Last edited by JAB; 08-01-2011 at 09:49 PM.
Old 08-01-2011, 10:02 PM
**oneshot**

TPC Rating: 
100% (1)
My freind and I both have remington 700's in 308win. I have to load his a full grain higher than mine to get the same groups. Seating depth off the lands is very close in both rifles.
I am lucky with my rimfires. I have 3 that just love the same target ammo. My hunting rifle loves a different flavor but it also shoots most anything really good, but only a few that it really shoots awesome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-01-2011, 10:05 PM
jerryg22
US Air Force Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
94% (42)