Wifi booster question - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2021, 02:07 PM
roysha

Join Date: 
Jul 2011
Posts: 
173
TPC Rating: 
100% (6)
Wifi booster question



Log in to see fewer ads
My wife's shop is about 80 feet from where our router is located. It is on the far side of the house and garage. Her internet is hit and miss. Some days it is nearly as good as it can be and other days she can't even get online.
My question: are these "boosters" really the answer or is there some other option for trying to get her reliable internet service?
If the "booster" is a viable fix, what brand and model do you folks recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2021, 03:14 PM
LtCrunch's Avatar
LtCrunch
US Marines NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Oct 2015
Location: 
Colorado
Posts: 
3,899
TPC Rating: 
100% (6)
Hi Roy, while we're waiting for an expert I'll give you my layman's opinion. Yes, for extending wi-fi signal range to a fixed device a booster can help a lot. Here's a low end model that gets pretty good reviews https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AC750...2662544&sr=8-4

Other options would be to try and raise the height of your wi-fi modem and/or move it to a closer/less obstructed location. Another probably unpalatable solution would be running an ethernet cable directly from her computer to the modem. That would really speed things up.

Just a few thoughts,

Frank
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2021, 06:23 PM
Zorba's Avatar
Zorba
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! GOA Member

Join Date: 
Mar 2014
Posts: 
752
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I have a wi-fi repeater in my house. It works - mostly. On occasion, it doesn't. I'm eventually going to run a hard line to my library where my computer is.

Netgear or D-Link. Avoid Belkin anything.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-2021, 06:46 PM
Artd's Avatar
Artd
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Jul 2004
Location: 
North Georgia Mountains
Posts: 
656
TPC Rating: 
100% (12)
I had to extend my Wi-Fi when we dumped satellite TV for streaming. I bought the TP-Link Deco Whole Home Mesh WiFi System from Costco. This is a pod type system, meaning that the first pod hooks to your DSL router then expands your wireless coverage by connecting to the other remote pods. My router is in the basement. Second pod is on the first floor in the great room, third is upstairs in the loft office. Improved coverage tremendously.

Art

Last edited by Artd; 06-03-2021 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2021, 07:00 PM
NVaVettes is online now
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Dec 2010
Posts: 
871
TPC Rating: 
100% (5)
We had good luck with getting better coverage w/ the Eero mesh network setup.

It works in the same way as Artd described above.

Good luck!

(I do not recommend a single 'extender' type box that creates an additional new wi-fi ssid. Been there, done that. Sucked.)

Last edited by NVaVettes; 06-02-2021 at 07:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2021, 07:10 PM
Atonic's Avatar
Atonic

Join Date: 
Dec 2011
Location: 
Wilmington, oh
Posts: 
360
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I never had any luck with the boosters. YMMV

If you can run an Ethernet cable from your router to your wife's office you can put in a wireless access point. Or just plug it into her computer. I did that for my garage.

Recently we needed to get better WiFi to my MiL's portion of the house. So I put in a google Nest mesh system. Easy to set up, great WiFi everywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2021, 08:09 PM
aztarget's Avatar
aztarget

Join Date: 
Mar 2008
Location: 
Tucson AZ
Posts: 
2,979
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
If you are using a desktop with a WiFi card that has external antenna. I would try a directional antenna. Not recommending this particular one. Just to give you an idea.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008Z4I7WQ...F1JTA9R9708HWR

Sent from my 9029Z using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2021, 09:20 PM
gmd1950's Avatar
gmd1950
US Air Force Veteran Law Enforcement Officer NRA Member - Click Here To Join! GOA Member

Join Date: 
Dec 2006
Location: 
Mebane, NC
Posts: 
56,947
TPC Rating: 
100% (31)
We've had a Netgear Orbi for about 5 years, works great...not the cheapest but with the main router in my office and the satellite in our bedroom at extreme ends of the house its done the job for us.
__________________
NRA Benefactor Member/GOA Life *Esse Quam Videri Ya'll*
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-2021, 10:18 PM
Pudfark
Law Enforcement Officer

Join Date: 
Jul 2021
Location: 
Republic of Texas
Posts: 
46
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Late to the party

My experience is that folks don't understand routers and neither do the sales folks. If you are looking for a decent router? Go name brand and expect to pay at least a couple hundred bucks. My router is a 5 1/2 year old Netgear R7800 NightHawk. My ISP gives me a solid 100 meg down and eight up. I run a gaming server, stream content 24/7 with out issues. Further have four Alexa's and a dozen switches installed at any given time I have at least 24 devices connected. When my granddaughters and family vist, it's easily 40 devices and not one stutter.

Spend up for a router, the crap your ISP gives/charges you for is trashcan grade.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2021, 06:46 PM
ivan

Join Date: 
Aug 2008
Posts: 
6,290
TPC Rating: 
100% (6)
80' through two sets of exterior walls? Run a cable. Once you have a cable run, either plug into a switch and then hang an access point off that or just plug in an access point directly (I'd go w/ switch and skip the wireless and plug the computer into the wire if you have network card).
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-27-2021, 07:53 PM
fourbore
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

Join Date: 
Jun 2014
Location: 
NewEngland,USA
Posts: 
5,191
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Here you go. I had to cut & paste to be sure I got the terminology correct. And I found instructions. Much easier than a booster setup. And it is still wireless so all the usual devices will work. Not just a single hard wire computer. Less money. More better:



Option #2. (This is my current setup) You can get another wireless router and connect it to your existing router using an Ethernet cable. The advantage is that this setup comes pretty cheap and the Internet speed stays almost the same even for computers that are accessing the web via the new router.

You can get a 100 feet long Ethernet Cable (also known as Cat5 or LAN or RJ45 cable) for less than $10 and wireless routers start at $20. Here’s a detailed guide on how you can connect two routers together.

https://www.labnol.org/internet/conn...routers/13517/

Last edited by fourbore; 09-27-2021 at 07:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.

Privacy Policy

DMCA Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2018 RimfireCentral.com
x