Online match based on CMP rimfire sporter rules? - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 02-10-2013, 06:34 PM
boomer1821

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Online match based on CMP rimfire sporter rules?

Anyone interested in participating in monthly online matches based on the CMP rimfire sporter rules? I'm new to 3-position shooting, and am not really interested in spending big bucks on a match-grade target rifle and equally expensive ammunition and other equipment. On the other hand, I feel like a little friendly competition will push me to improve, and would be fun, as long as it is on a fairly level playing field. Since that is effectively the basis of the CMP rimfire sporter classification, I think it could be a great starting point. At this point I'm looking to see if there are any other interested folks on here.

Of course, this would be completely on the honor system, so I propose that we use the CMP RFS rules as written, with a strong emphasis on the spirit, rather than the letter of those rules. In particular, the weight and trigger pull limits should be "close", like maybe within 10%? I know from my own experience with the 10/22 that one can make such a weight limit fairly easily. Personally, I'm not that hung up on the trigger pull as a competitive issue, but I'm open to ideas.

Please reply here if you are interested.

Rick
Old 02-11-2013, 07:58 AM
realtly19934
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (1)
I'm in as soon as the weather breaks on the East Coast. Nothing but offhand at the indoor range where I practice when the temps below 40*. 30 shot or 60 shot?

Mike
Old 02-11-2013, 07:32 PM
boomer1821

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I'd be inclined to propose both, and see which is more popular. I don't have any preference, although the 30 shot would likely take less time, and so perhaps be more popular due to the convenience. What are your thoughts on this?