Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 08-31-2017, 09:19 AM
DeoreDX
Appleseed Rifleman

TPC Rating: 
100% (1)
DiY kydex cheek riser project.

Started a new project last night. Well it's part of project where I'm taking a Ruger Charger I don't use and I'm re-stocking it and putting a 16" threaded bull barrel on it and scoping it. I picked up a B stock factory laminate target stock and I know the comb on it will be too low for a good cheek weld so I decided to make my own Kydex cheek riser. I know you can but those kits for about $30-40 but I didn't want to use the big knob hardware and I didn't want/need the adjustability. Once I set the height and position I'll never change it so I decided to make my own. I've never tried to form Kydex before so this will be a learning experience for me. I figured forming a simple U shape would be pretty easy to do.

I started by drawing up some patterns and using my wife's Silhouette to cut them out on card stock to test them on my 10/22 carbine. This was v4 and the shape/size I decided to go with. I cut some registration marks on my my pattern to not the center line of the pattern. I figured I would need that when it comes time to forming.

Not the final position but you get the drift.

I cut my pattern out on vinyl and placed it on my Kydex. That's my stencil for rough and final cutting and shaping of my piece.

Used my wife's rotary cutter to make a starter straight score lines and used a utility knife to make the score lines deeper. Scored and snapped to work out the rough shape. That rotary cutter was the tits for making straight score lines. Much better than what I would have normally done with a knife and a straight edge. Have about 45 minutes invested so far. Tonight I will be roughly rounding the corners on a drum sander that mounts in my drill press and work it to final shape by hand with file and sandpaper.