Leather boot grommet - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 07-10-2019, 06:55 PM
TRG3

TPC Rating: 
100% (6)
Leather boot grommet

I've got an older pair of LL Bean hunting boots and one of the eyelets/grommets has pulled out of the leather upper. Amazon offers several options on replacements, but I'd like to hear from a member who has already done this.

Thanks,Tom
Old 07-10-2019, 09:21 PM
newbie2

TPC Rating: 
100% (2)
Harbor freight has grommet kits. You can eyeball which is closest to the original and go from there. It might help you sort out which you want from Amazon.
Old 07-11-2019, 07:58 AM
dotchief
Law Enforcement Officer NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (2)
Well,

I've been wearing Bean boots for over 60 years. I've had so many resoled by them that I have lost count. However, I've never had a grommet issue. If it were me, I'd be on the phone with Bean and find out if they won't repair it for you. Their service is awesome.

I sent a pair of boots back to them for resoling along with my check for the work and shipping. I got the boots back in less than two weeks along with my check and letter of apology! Seems the soles on the boots were not the correct composition in the rubber. They repaired the boots and I got my money back!!!

Pat G

Old 07-11-2019, 05:23 PM
bangbang
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
have you looked at any shoe/boot repair shops locally?

I totally get the grommet kit, but sometimes you can get it repaired.

when i was working at my couz shoe/clothes store it was common to replace the grommets/hooks or put some heels taps? on boots.
Old 07-11-2019, 07:04 PM
TRG3

TPC Rating: 
100% (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dotchief View Post