Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 06-18-2019, 03:09 PM
Chaoscreature

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Newly inherited Sport King

Hey All!

I am new to firearms and just inherited a Sport king that belonged to my father.

The pistol looks like it has hardly been fired.
I can't seem to find too much information on the gun. I went to Histandard.info and there are a bunch of manuals there, but none of the parts breakdowns look quite like mine. I am assuming this is a model 101 and maybe made around 1952?

If anyone can give me some history on this firearm I would appreciate it

Old 06-18-2019, 03:57 PM
Ontarian50

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
What you have there pre-dates the 101 series of High Standards.
Your gun is from what collectors now call the "Lever Name" series, because the barrel removes by unlatching the small lever, and the guns now all had names, ranging from Sport King, Flite King, Field King, Supermatic, and Olympic.
I'm gathering there had been some meeting in 1950 where the High Standard board were told they had to get with the times and no longer label their guns by letters (B, D, E, etc).
So your gun is among the first to be called "Sport King" (replacing the earlier B, and A models).
And yes, the "Lever Name" series were made from 1950 to 1954, after which High Standard brought out the button release frame 100 series.
Old 06-18-2019, 05:06 PM
wproct

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I can't add much to Ontarian50's comments other than to say that you have inherited a very nice High Standard pistol.

Old 06-19-2019, 04:44 PM
Chaoscreature

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Well, I just got back from the range. I had a lot of misfeed issues.
I cleaned and oiled the pistol earlier in the week and it seems like it's functioning smoothly... but then I am a novice at this.