Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 12-29-2013, 09:56 AM
Davcruz
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (5)
Explain MOA rails to me please

So I am new to the "details" of rifles and guns. I have always been kind of an "out of the box" shooter for fun. That said, I found a deal on a used 10/22 not that long ago and it was "done up" a bit by the PO. I have kinda gotten the bug to take my shooting a bit more seriously and of course the best way to get better is to understand the tool you use! The rail on it is stamped 15 MOA. I have seen folks here and on perfect union mention other rails like 25 MOA for example. What is the purpose of these different "MOA" rails?
Old 12-29-2013, 10:15 AM

That Evil Admin Lady
TPC Rating: 
100% (23)
Purpose? Kind of mixed up with the "how." Short version: they prop up one end of the scope. The rail is a wedge shape rather than flat -- one end is thicker than the other. Normally, they are mounted with the thicker end at the rear. That props up the aft end of the scope.

Mounting the rail that way has the same effect as dialing in "up" adjustment on your scope's elevation knob. That extra adjustment added externally lets you get sighted in at longer ranges or keep your reticle in the center of the scope when sighted in at normal ranges or, as is sometimes the case, helps overcome alignment issues between barrel and receiver.

The amount of adjustment is given in MOA but that's just a close approximation as you may put your scope in a slightly different position on the rail than the next guy. Obviously, I hope, a 25 MOA rail gives more adjustment than a 15 MOA rail.

MOA is the abbreviation for Minute of Angle or Minute of Arc. Rounding for simplicity, a MOA is an angle that measures 1" wide at 100 yards. Since it is an angular measure, 1 MOA will be 1/2" wide at 50 yards and 2" wide at 200 yards.