Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 02-27-2010, 03:08 PM
dcmdon
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
New or Used Model 41?

All,

I've been shooting a Ruger Mk II for 20 years and love the gun. I'm over 40 though and have been gradually buying some of the guns that I've always lusted after.

Well, the 41 is one of them. I remember the first time I shot one in the 80s and had to console myself that I had just beaten the owner of the 41 in a bullseye match.

I've noticed that there isn't much or any difference in the price between new ones and used ones.

I'm not in any rush, and I'm not going to worry about a couple of hundred dollars one way or the other.

So, if you were shopping, what would you be looking for as far as age?

I live near the S&W factory and have seen the great guns they are building now. Far superior to what they turned out in the 70s and 80s. After the era of hand fitting, but before the era of CNC machining stations. So, if one option is to buy a new gun and send it off to have the trigger done, I'm open to that.

One question re the new guns. The old 41s have the deepest, most beautiful bluing. Are the new guns a match or is it more of a brushed finish?

This is a gun I will have for the rest of my life. Enlighten me. If you say the 1960 to 1968 guns with SN from 123454 to 234344 are best then I'm interested in hearing why.

Thanks.

Don
Old 02-27-2010, 03:33 PM
mikengracie

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
There are plenty of searches that address your question.
Its usually because of used prices buy new. The new one are
shooters. I notice no difference in fit and finish. But I am more function over form.
Old 02-27-2010, 04:06 PM
StefArms

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)