making up my mind - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 10-29-2018, 04:42 PM
BenV

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)

New to the forum after a fair dose of lurking, relatively new to shooting and a complete newbie to hand guns.

I have learned that I love 22lr firearms. I regularly spend two to three hours at the range, shooting my Savage B22 FV pretty much non stop and watching a number of people show up with their center fires, firing maybe ten rounds and going home again.
Nothing against them and I fully intend to get into that later on, but I need the trigger time to get better and 22lr is the only round I can afford to do it with.
Turns out it is also a lot of fun to shoot.

After a five month wait I finally got my restricted license (I live in Canada) and I have some saving to do, but I am looking into 22lr pistols.

I am down to a Buck Mark or a SW22 Victory. Yesterday I got to shoot a BM Camper and loved it.
I have large hands and though my pinky finger kept slipping off the bottom of the grip it felt better than most. I figure the magazine base plates from Tandemkross will fix that problem.

I also like the looks of the Buck Marks better than the Victory's, so that is the way I am leaning.

Budget wise I land on three models I like:
the Hunter,
the UDX (that is all the specification this store has, product code is #10645)
or the Field Target.

It is at least a four hour drive to the nearest gun store where I can actually handle one, so it looks like I'll have to go by digital impressions while making up my mind.