Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

Opinions on a T/C Hawkin .50 Cal as a first BP rifle?

4K views 27 replies 15 participants last post by  Gabby-Bill 
#1 ·
BP Newbie here. I have been shooting a Uberti and Ruger Old Army .44 round ball pistols for the past year. I don't shoot them every time I go to the range, but I enjoy the basic nature of these revolvers. I would like to partner them with a rifle -- a traditional style cap-fired rifle -- but am lost in the number of choices facing a purchaser. Feels like when I was buying my first rifle all over again. Not a bad problem, but there is an "information overload" quality to the experience.

I bid on -- and lost -- a Gunbroker T/C Hawkin .45 rifle, which seemed like a good first choice. But having lost that auction, I am looking at all possibilities.

The purpose is target shooting at 50 and 100 yards, so accuracy is a must, but iron sights would be OK, even preferable. I'm not totally opposed to an in-line model, but if the rifle recommended is an in-line model, I want it to be reliable and ok to use with balls rather than only conical sabots (don't understand yet why it would necessarily be one or the other). I am thinking about getting into casting at some point, although that is, admittedly, several years down the line.

The budget here is sub-$1000 but a "best buy" at a fraction of that would be welcome. For instance, I see that there are new Hawkins in .50 cal for around $400 at Bud's and at Midway and a Kentucky Traditions .50 cal for about $30 less. I don't think my woodworking "skills" are up to a kit.

Also: any insight into why .45 rifles are so scarce? Is there a great accuracy advantage to the .50 cal slug, or is it a "hunting knock-down power" sort of thing?

See less See more
#2 ·