Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

Trying to take people shooting ...

2K views 41 replies 23 participants last post by  Bottom Gun 
#1 ·
A young woman from work was talking about learning to shoot. So I told her that I'm an NRA certified pistol instructor and that I'd be glad to teach her the basics. She said, "Great!" The problem is scheduling. She has a fixed schedule with Friday and Saturday off and my schedule is variable and I only get one Saturday a month off.

So, for the past few months, every time I get my schedule with a Friday or Saturday off I'll say, "Let's go to the range." It's always, "I'll have to see.." It's always something. The dog's sick. Her girlfriend is in a bad mood. She suddenly has to go out of town.

So much for being the nice co-worker.

I've run into this in the past as well.

Back in the 90s I had a neighbor who bought a Ruger .357 and asked me to get him a bunch of ammo from my favorite reloader. He went with me one time and shot rather well which he attributed to his Marine Corps training thirty years earlier. He said that he wanted to shoot more and thought that idea of pins or plates sounded like fun. The problem was that pin and plate matches were on Saturdays or Sundays and he had church. Saturdays were taken up with prepping the church for Sunday and even though the service let out at 11 AM on Sunday he didn't get home until after 2 PM because of church stuff. I also used to regularly go to the range on Wednesday evenings but he couldn't go then because . . . church. I said, "Tell you what. You tell me when you want to go and I'll clear my schedule." The last time that I talked to him, he still had all that ammo.