Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 03-04-2017, 07:39 PM
redlightrich

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Scope ring mounting distance

Hello all, scope newb here again. I followed the advice of this site, and purchased Burris Signature rings for my new CZ 455.

One person recommended to set the rings 3.6 inches apart ( which made sense to me being 100 yards = 3600 inches, so the math to shift it would be easy.

My question is should I set the rings 3.6 inches apart from outer ends? Or 3.6 inches apart center to center. Keep in mind, the signature rings have an insert which appears to be plastic or nylon or something like that. They make them in offset sizes to correct any problems that the scope itself may not handle.
I am not sure if that info factors into the answer.

Please be patient with me. I did search here, and the web, and I am not finding the answer. I am new to optics, and there is so much I have to learn!!!

Thank you for your help!!

Rich
Old 03-04-2017, 08:11 PM

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Methinks the vert has been dialed up while thy back hast been turned.

Going hunting for snipe later tonight. Bring that big croaker sack--you're gonna need it.

Are you talking 3.6" on the dovetail or the tube?

"They make them in offset sizes to correct any problems that the scope itself may not handle."

I'm right there with your^^.

What size rings do you have? What kind and size--tube diameter--is your scope? What are you thinking about eye relief?
Old 03-04-2017, 08:26 PM
lone gunman
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
i have always done it at 3.5 inches apart center to center, that's what i was told years ago.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-05-2017, 08:28 AM
Travelor
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Send a message via Yahoo to Travelor
Hopefully the scope base is uniform. I set my rings as far apart as the bases allow.