Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 04-22-2013, 12:15 AM
asdfasdf

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
First centerfire rifle

Hello, ive had my .22 savage bolt gun for over a year now, but id like to add a centerfire. The main reason being im looking to do guided hog hunts and id like my own rifle for that, but id like a gun that would be fun at the range too. ive talked to some gun shop guys and they all suggest the .30-06 for any hunting but that seems like a giant leap in BOOM from the .22 lr although i have no experience with high power rifles.

the largest cartridge ive ever shot is a .223 which was a breeze, very light kick.

searching around gun shops and some internet research ive come up with some options

1) savage bolt action w/ wood stock and scope base in .30-06 $450
2) lever action win 94 or marlin 336 .30-30 $350-500
3) lever action in .44 mag didnt check price
4) bolt gun in .223
5) SKS 7.62 x 39 $400

im open to other selections though. i live near a pawn shop with literally 500+ guns, mostly bolt guns, lever guns, and shotguns. so if you had another gun to suggest, theyd probably have it.

about me, im a 20 yr old 6ft 160 lbs and i live in Florida

any advice is welcomed! thank you
Old 04-22-2013, 12:45 AM
Sophia

That Evil Admin Lady
TPC Rating: 
100% (23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdfasdf View Post
ive talked to some gun shop guys and they all suggest the .30-06 for any hunting but that seems like a giant leap in BOOM from the .22 lr although i have no experience with high power rifles.