Autos easier to shoot "well" than bolt? - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 10-18-2016, 05:02 PM
Patriotpappy
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (1)
Autos easier to shoot "well" than bolt?

I do most of my shooting off the bench with peep sights. I pretty regularly post in the "50 yard iron sight match" shooting vintage bolt target rifles. I am no expert but have a pretty good feel for technique and what it takes to shoot these guns well. I am in the camp that believes that generally speaking, bolt guns are potentially more inherently accurate than auto loaders (debate for another day!) That said, it seems to me that autos can be easier to shoot "well" for the average shooter than bolt guns.

I come to this conclusion anecdotally and have done no testing to try and prove it. It certainly seems to me that my target rifles are much more sensitive to hold, trigger pull, set-up and shooter related inconsistencies.

When I set up to shoot for record I am very meticulous about setting up my rest, bags alignment etc. That said I generally need to shoot several bulls to get the kinks worked out and make adjustments to begin shooting at an acceptable level. These guns seem to be "divas" and demand that everything, including ammo selection be exactly right before thy will perform. It seems to me to take only the slightest variation in releasing a shot to cause a bad miss.

On the flip side, I have a mildly modified 10-22, (by no definition a target rifle) that can shoot nearly as well without all the drama. Slap it down on a bag, feed it nearly any decent ammo, put the retical on the aiming point and pull the trigger. All the "rules" about hold, free recoil or gorilla grip, tracking seem to make little difference. As long as the sights are on the aiming point when you pull the trigger the shot is pretty much going where you aim.