Model 94 Fun Again! - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 05-04-2016, 08:24 PM
topowell
US Army Veteran NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

North Missouri (hot in summer, cold in winter)
TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Model 94 Fun Again!

I've had a Taurus Model 94, blued with 4" barrel, for several years. I've never been very good with it, partly due to lack of practice time and the heavy Double Action trigger pull, but also due to the repeated misfires in DA, from what I assumed was light firing pin strikes. Even Single Action would often misfire. Hitting the primer a second time would sometimes fire the round, but not always. Very disappointing.

Anyway, I recently retired and have actual free time now so I've taken up shooting again. (By the way, I "highly" recommend retirement. It beats working all to heck!) With more free time I started shooting the little Taurus a lot and I'd got to where I could hit pretty good in SA and even DA, but it still had way too many fail-to-fires.

I finally took the hammer spring out and inserted a small washer at the bottom of the spring to try to strengthen the spring. After several sweaty (..and sweary..) minutes, I got it back together and tried it out. Lo and behold, it made a world of difference!

I can now hit pretty good (for me) with both SA and DA, and it very rarely fails to fire with one trigger pull, even with the old tough Winchester Super-Xs that have given me so many fits. I've even gotten used to the heavy DA trigger pull and consider it fun.

I've never had a problem with the cylinder locking up like some of you have, so maybe I'm lucky, but I love my little 94 now that it's finally reliable. If you have trouble with light strikes on the primers, you might give this a try. Sure worked for me.
Old 05-04-2016, 09:55 PM
jon p

TPC Rating: 
100% (4)
Wink my 1990 4" S/S 94