TEDDY BEAR RAT
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! UotM

TPC Rating: 
100% (33)
Winchester Dates Of Manufacture

I THINK THIS LINK WILL WORK FOR WINCHESTER DATES OF MANUFACTURE:

WINCHESTER DATES OF MANUFACTURE

OR CLICK: http://oldguns.net/sn_php/winmods.htm

I am very new to RFC, but I have been a rimfire enthusiast for 35 years, owning everything one can imagine, plus designing and fabricating a few myself. Today my question involves production numbers for Winchester Model 52 Sporting rifles.

In my never-ending pursuit of the very finest .22 rifle of all time, I recently purchased a pre-suffix “Type-A” Sporting rifle in about 98% condition, and this purchase piqued my curiosity about its rarity. My less-than-scientific observations seem to indicate “B” Sporters are, by far, the most commonly encountered, and I have seen personally more “Cs” than “A”s and “Pre A”s. Yet, many of the publications assigning values to firearms characterize the “Cs” as the rarest. In an attempt to estimate which model is, in fact, rarest, I have used Houze’s book, a few magazine articles, auction results, and my own rifles for reference. I have come up with some production numbers that I feel must be at least close, but I would like to present this information to the Winchester gurus to see what they think.