Join Team RFC to remove these ads.
Closed Thread

Old 09-30-2017, 11:25 AM
grg
US Army Disabled American Veteran

TPC Rating: 
100% (6)
Reloading help please!

First I have been reloading for 30 years and have never had this problem. I am not a competitive shooter just reload for fun and hunting.

The problem, I bought a 6.5 Creedmoor in a Ruger Predator rifle and have shot about 100 rds of Hornady ammo through it to see how it shoots and accumulate some brass for reloading. The guns shoot great so had no concerns on chamber or anything else, also chambers and extract shells fine. I started out with a set of the new Hornady reloading dies, used them in other calibers and have worked great. I set my sizing die to just make pressure to the shell holder, set my depriming pin to protrude 3/16" from bottom of sizing die, lubed my case and proceeded to size a case. The case stuck in the die. Fought to finally get it out by removing the expander and spindle and driving the case out. The shell holder pulled the rim sides right off. I assumed the die may be bad as I eased another round up and could tell it would have the same problem so I returned the die set.

I had really wanted the Redding Premium die set with the indexed seating dial so waited for Brownells to get them in and picked it up. Just now went to repeat loading and same exact problem, this time struggling to get the casel out. I had figured maybe the case was harder material and was sizing hard as it went in but assumed it would extract fine. I had cleaned and lubed the die and lubed case as I Always have. What the heck is going on and how do I get this case out? The case Is measuring .461 at shoulder to .467 at closest point to the rim, as far as I can tell that is within spec. I did not check my neck thickness but the expander would be way past that as the case is clear in.

Any ideas on what I am doing? How do I get this case out without ruining the die? Thanks in advance.