Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 02-05-2009, 12:43 PM
-=GTI=- Zach

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
My old .22

Hey guys I'm pretty new here and this is my Remington 550-i. Manufacture date is 1946, and it really needs to be refinished. I've never done anything like that before so it's going to be interesting! Let me know what you think.

Old 02-05-2009, 01:01 PM
hiddenhider
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Welcome to the forum.

So what look are you going for?

Do you want it to look new or just clean her up a bit?

I think she looks pretty good from here.
Old 02-05-2009, 01:16 PM
-=GTI=- Zach

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
It's actually pretty bad just my cell phone pictures don't reveal it. My grandpa got this gun when he came back from the service so I'd like to make it look original again. Here are some more detailed pictures of the carnage.

Any tips or recommendations? I'm 19 and I have no experience refinishing guns! I took metals all four years when I was in high school instead of woods
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-05-2009, 01:55 PM
hiddenhider

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
That'll come out really nice.

You can do a search of the forums for different refinishing techniques, some of the guys can really work some magic.

You'll want to chemically strip the old finish off but don't use sandpaper on it at all, you'll end up rounding the edges off. Steel wool works really good, you can buy 00, 000 and 0000 at Wally World.

Take your time, steam out the dents if you've got them, it'll come out real nice. But like you said it's a 1946 so it's carrying some history in those deeper dings.
Old 02-05-2009, 02:12 PM
hiddenhider

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums...ght=oil+finish

Check this out.
Old 02-05-2009, 02:40 PM
Ralfus

TPC Rating: 
100% (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiddenhider View Post