Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 11-26-2018, 09:37 PM
Neel

TPC Rating: 
100% (15)
Cleaning Rods....

I have been looking for a good quality non coated hardened cleaning rod. Any suggestions in locating a good cleaning rod?

Last edited by Neel; 11-26-2018 at 10:13 PM.
Old 11-27-2018, 07:32 AM
TTS22

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Look at Ivy, very good quality.
Old 11-27-2018, 11:29 AM
squirrelsniper

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I'm a fan of Pro Shot cleaning rods. For cleaning 22LRs, get a .17 or .20 cal rod and a thread adaptor to use 22LR brushes.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-27-2018, 12:03 PM
John45
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (2)
Good luck on Ivy. I tried several emails and phone calls with no responses to either about a month ago. Finally bought a ProShot and couldn't be happier. After all, it's just a polished SS rod with a handle and threaded. I got the 20 cal rod and it is a great rod. Watch your threads if you go with 20. You will need an adapter for your brushes and jags if they are for 22 cal rods. If I need another rod I will stay with ProShot and forget Ivy.
Old 11-27-2018, 12:57 PM
80hornet

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Pro Shot Rods

Same with me on the Ivy rods.Tried to get one for months with no luck. Pro Shot rods were recommended by a friend. I ordered a couple of them and they are GREAT cleaning rods.I too highly recommend them.
Old 11-27-2018, 01:17 PM
Smoothtrigger
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! Appleseed Member Appleseed Rifleman

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
I've never gotten what's so special about Ivy Rods.

Pro-Shots are highly polished stainless steel ( just like Ivy's) with an even smaller ball bearing handle.
Small is good because it has less chance of banging into you comb.
In fact that's one of two things I don't like about Dewey rods; gigantic handles, along with the unnecessary coating which will eventually peel off after it has its first run in with an extractor

Smooth