Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 07-28-2019, 08:47 PM
russmcintire

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Which Single six is this?

I have my fathers RUGER Single six .22 pistol. Complete with everything packaged when he got it. IE; 2 cylinders, instructions, warranty card, display tags, receipt of purchase, etc. The pistol is not safety converted and the markings are as follows:

Left Side:

RUGER .22 cal
Single-six

Right Side:

serial number: 398852

In looking at the serial number production tables here:
https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forum...d.php?t=318911

It looks like a magnum. How can I tell for sure?

I am new to this model and just want to find out more.
Old 07-29-2019, 01:39 PM
Danjet500

TPC Rating: 
100% (2)
You have answered your own question. You stated the package contains both cylinders. This indicates a convertible. Check on the end of the cylinders for the serial number. It should be inscribed on the magnum cylinder. The serial number you gave is beyond the regular production dates for the magnum only guns. Your gun was shipped in 1964. However, with Ruger never say never. It may have been a late one. The only sure way to find out is to request the information from Ruger as to the original shipped configuration.
Old 07-29-2019, 02:26 PM
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
No mystery it is a convertible. Old model.

I hope it has been shot a few times, so; that you can do the same. You also need to be aware that when a blue steel revolver like this is stored in a cardbaord box, you can get some minor rusting when the paper hits the metal. That is an added reason to shoot and oil it up from time to time. I have mint 44 flat top. The first ruger CF revolver. I got it for cheap due to a little tiny speck of corrosion on the side of the barrel. You mention all that paper and stuff. It does not count for squat with any box damage. Good news for me, not necessarily for others.
Sponsored Links