Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 11-28-2019, 08:26 PM
TallGeo
US Air Force Veteran

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
cz 457 22 mag

I am fairly new to shooting, although I'm an old guy. I have a cz 457 American 22 mag and I love it. Have a Nikon scope on it and it's probably more accurate than I'll ever be. My question is: Is the 22 mag any more accurate than a 22 lr or not? I've been using Hornady 30 gr. v-max ammo and am pleased with it. Any other suggestions? Is match or target ammo that much better? Or am I just spitting hairs?
I'll be interested in hearing opinions.
Thanks in advance.
Old 11-28-2019, 08:49 PM
fourbore
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
There is no match grade 22mag ammo. The 22mag has got a lot of bad rep from the 17 mag fanboys. Internet lies. I dpnt have to tell you. You can see how it shoots. For me, the 30 gr vamx does well in all my rifles. IMHO you can stick with that and be deadly on the appropriate size critters. Or shoot targets. I find the 22mag Vmax it shoots about as well as CCI standard velocity or CCI mini mags in comparable guns. If I upgrade the gun, the 22LR is more accurate even with the same ammo. I can then upgrade the 22LR ammo for more improvement. This is not a game you can play with rimfire magnums. Not to the same extent.

The 22mag is a hunting round. The American is good hunting rifle, although it can do a lot more.

Something people dont like to admit, or I should say my experience, I can shoot a 1" 5 shot group at 100 yards with 22mag much easier than I can do that with a higher grade 22LR setup. Theory vs actual results. I know the 17 mag folks have the same experience (or naturally much better on the internet). The high velocity makes it MUCH easier to shoot flat out to 100. Try that with 22lr, with a foot or more drop. In some cases you can run out of scope adjustment. The magnums, no problem. Same with the wind!
Old 11-29-2019, 12:05 AM
ronsatspokane

TPC Rating: 
100% (1)