Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

Newbie looking for advice on 223 lead free

1K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  aczrad 
#1 ·
I'm new to reloading for rifles. I have reloaded shot shells and 9mm. I'm wanting to start with.223 for varmints and predators. I have two rifles for this, a Savage axis and a win70, both 1:12. I'm leaning towards 50gr.l, but smaller would be great too. I'm going to just start with lead free because I live in California. Anyone out there with ideas on bullets, powders, etc. I've been all over the net and have two manuals, so I have good starting references, but looking for real world experience. Thank you in advance for any pointers

#2 ·
Sorry, I haven't been forced out of lead bullets yet so no first hand knowledge of shooting lead free. What I can state is any bullet made from a lighter material needs to be longer than any given weight lead bullet. Your twist rate will keep you in the lower weight bullets even with lead. It's the length not the weight that determines if the bullet will be stable with the twist rate.

Speaking of which, is your Axis and older model or different barrel? Mine is a 1/9" and likes most anything from 40 gr tipped flat base to 68 gr HPBT bullets.

#3 ·
56S, thank you for your reply, I read a lot about the bullet length lead vs LF, that's why I was going to start with 50's, but I'm leaning towards 40's now. I still have a few months to shoot lead, so I may try both to start. A lot depends on what I can source locally. I'm going to look for W748, rem 7.5 primers, they seem to work well with most loads I'm looking at. Opinions on powder? Benchmark and varget seem to do well also

#5 · (Edited)
Magnum primers with ball propellants

I'm going to look for W748, rem 7.5 primers, they seem to work well with most loads I'm looking at. Opinions on powder? Benchmark and varget seem to do well also