Difference between competition target and government target - RimfireCentral.com Forums

Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > >

Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 11-30-2017, 06:23 PM
JeepsAndGuns

TPC Rating: 
100% (3)
Difference between competition target and government target

Pretty simple question. What are the differences between the Mk II competition target and the Mk II government target?
I have tried searching but can not find any real info. Best I can tell is the comp target seem to all be SS and have a "slab side" barrel, though I saw a couple pictures of blued ones. The gov target appears to be blue or SS and have a round barrel.
Other than the barrel profile and what is stamped on the receivers, are there any differences?
If you had the chance to buy one or the other (both setting next to each other) would you pick one over the other?
I am new to the Mk II series. I have a Mk III 22/45 and really like it, but everywhere I see the two above mark II models mentioned, they are always held in very high regards.
Old 11-30-2017, 06:55 PM
Empe
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (7)
The Government Target model was originally built for use by the US military for training purposes and to their specifications. Each model had to shoot within 1 1/4" at 25 yds . in order to qualify. Ruger made them with a "roller burnished" chamber which supposedly aided in the accuracy department. They were stamped with US markings.
After a period of time Ruger decided to offer them for sale to the public . The civilian offerings were identical to the US Government models except for the markings. Each model also came with test target serial # to the gun testifying to that particular guns accuracy.
Many of the MK II target models will meet or exceed those accuracy standards with the right ammunition but the Government Target was the only model that was guaranteed to do so.