Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

Targets and matches questions

2K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  nrs 
#1 ·
I printed off some USBR practice targets.

How would I get an idea of how well I would shoot the real target?
Is there any matches here for this practice target?
Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
I’m new at it but seriously think the way to find out just how you’d shoot a USBR target is to get some and try it. I bought 100 USBR targets from the guy listed in the “How to order official USBR 50 yard targets” link on here for all of $27.50 shipped, and they were here in about three days. They are a heavy paper target, very nice and far better than I can print off. So I just started shooting some with fairly good ammo. I haven’t done that well; it’s a learning process.

For example, I shot a USBR target where the last row showed a 10, 9, 10, 9 then a darned 7. I fired a five shot group with the same ammo, same rifle & rests immediately after that was 0.266” CTC. That shows just how different shooting the Green Monster is vs shooting groups, at least for me. I have a good rifle and am a pretty fair shot for groups, casual plinking, and on big game but the USBR 50 is a whole new thing. I need to work on how I shoot it with F & R bags, or spring for a mechanical front rest...then keep on learning.

I think if you spend the $27.50 you’ll find it a very reasonable deal. There are 25 & 50 yard monthly USBR matches in the CZ subforum here, but I don’t know of others.

#7 ·