RimfireCentral.com Forums

RimfireCentral.com Forums (https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Ruger - Other (https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Barrel nut on new RPRF loose from factory (https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1175245)

c.w.moss 10-26-2019 04:44 PM

Barrel nut on new RPRF loose from factory
 
Got this rifle about a week ago, mounted up a scope and shot enough to get on paper, looked pretty good. The wind was very high so I quit. One thing I did notice was the handguard was not tight, it had a little movement, so I loosened and retightened the two screws. Seemed to be OK, no more movement, I thought. The screws were tight, but you could still twist the handguard. So I decided to remove the handguard. What was causing the little bit of movement was the barrel nut not tightened properly. I unscrewed it by hand. Came here to the forum to find out the torque the nut needed to be. Fixing to go back together with it.

Gmww 10-26-2019 07:19 PM

Early on I couldn't find the specs either. I found this video and this fella is torquing it at 30-40 ft/lbs. I just do 30 ft/lbs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoeM4B1wxJg

Gmww 10-26-2019 07:35 PM

I also found my barrel nut needs a 30mm wrench to loosen. When I tighten I found a claw foot 1 3/16" wrench that works with my torque wrench.

https://www.mentium-usa.com/collecti...1-3-16-30-16mm

gcrank1 10-26-2019 08:12 PM

Just a FWIW, when a 'crowfoot', or any addition to a torque wrench extends its 'reach' the wrench exerts more torque than what it reads/is set at. The correction is mathmatical.

Gmww 10-26-2019 08:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gcrank1 (Post 11650945)
Just a FWIW, when a 'crowfoot', or any addition to a torque wrench extends its 'reach' the wrench exerts more torque than what it reads/is set at. The correction is mathmatical.

Good to know. Makes me feel better about using the 30 ft/lbs vs the 40 ft/lbs.

AveragEd 10-27-2019 07:15 AM

When I changed the barrel on my rifle, I will guarantee that the barrel nut was tightened well beyond 40 lb/ft at the factory - I had to really work to loosen it with the rifle in a gun vice. I watched a video on changing barrels on that rifle and the use of a torque wrench wasn't mentioned (possibly because the author didn't have a 1-3/16" crowfoot socket?).

I had to do some scrounging to find a combination wrench that size. Harbor Freight and Home Depot don't stock that size and just by dumb luck I found a very dusty one in a drawer under Lowe's wrench display. An employee there said they didn't have that size but when I showed him that his store's website indicated that they had one - just one - he dug around and found it.

Ed

gcrank1 10-27-2019 09:10 AM

Btw, never use a torque wrench to remove something, only to tighten on assembly.

c.w.moss 10-27-2019 10:37 AM

The setting I found on the forum was 35ftlbs.

72coupe 10-28-2019 01:04 PM

Mine was certainly not loose. I used a Crescent wrench to remove and reinstall.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.

DMCA Notice

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2000-2018 RimfireCentral.com