RimfireCentral.com Forums

RimfireCentral.com Forums (https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   Anything 10/22 (https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=145)
-   -   Stuck Tight 10/22 Barrel Removal (https://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=263142)

tacman556 02-03-2009 01:57 PM

Stuck Tight 10/22 Barrel Removal

I have been shooting 10/22s for over 20 years. I just bought a new one and am trying to remove the barrel. This barrel is stuck tight. I am assuming the new "painted" receiver has created a tighter than usual fit that my older 10/22s have. I have removed the screws and V-block but I can't get the barrel to budge. I have sprayed around the joint on both sides with WD40 hoping that will loosen it up, but so far no go. I am sure I could get it out, but I don't want to damage anything in the process. Any suggestions?

Bugg77 02-03-2009 02:23 PM

I had the same problem with my new 10/22 and what I did was to pull the bolt back and let it slam forward. After 5 or 10 times and the barrel was a pretty easy 'pull and twist' away from being completely out.

tacman556 02-03-2009 02:45 PM

Dennis from Mizzoumuleguns suggested the same thing. After about 50 bolt slams...still no go. I have it soaking in WD40 right now and will try this again later, but in the meantime, any more tips?

geminidglocker 02-03-2009 02:58 PM

The bolt slam is ofcourse the first option.The second seems to be putting the thing in a freezer and then heating either the reciever or the barrel with a hair dryer to break any kind of bond that can be thermally defeated.Good luck.I've never had to resort to thermal measures, the bolt slam has always worked for me.

tacman556 02-03-2009 08:51 PM