Rimfire Central Firearm Forum banner

Suggested solutions to Mosquito Problems

40K views 44 replies 16 participants last post by  Henry88 
#1 · (Edited)
Let me start by saying the Sig Sauer Mosquito has gotten a bad reputation since it came out a few years ago. The problems seem to come from a few different areas. I will try to address them. This should not be considered the only solutions to these problems and not all of them apply to every pistol. These are the most common ones I have found. I'm not an expert. I do own a few Mosquitoes.

Front Sight

The front sight is adjustable by removing one of them and installing a different height sight blade to raise or lower the point of impact. An easy way to remember which one to try next is if it is shooting high put in a higher front sight and if it is shooting low put in a lower front sight. To easily change the front sight. I take off the slide and use a small flat tip screw driver to press one ear of the tabs towards the other ear. I do this through the hole in the slide where the barrel goes through it. Then I wiggle it up and out. The next blade just simply snaps into the slot. The tab only needs to move a little bit. Shoving it hard will result in the tab either being broken or bent to the point where it will not be useable again.