Go Back   RimfireCentral.com Forums > Other Rimfire Guns > Savage/Stevens

Please support RFC by supporting our sponsors!

Old 02-26-2010, 05:04 PM
Joshua M. Smith
NRA Member - Click Here To Join! Appleseed Rifleman

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
The Deal With Mark II Magazines

Hello,

I do all my own work on my guns.

A while back, I got a Mk II BTVS. Pretty good rifle though the barrel wasn't freefloated like it was intended to be - so I fixed it.

After making Rifleman at Appleseed with a 10/22, I broke out the Mk II for some fun. I didn't have any extra mags, so I was loaned some 10 round mags, and dang near shot a perfect score - with a bolt gun yet!

After the Appleseed shoot, I went to buy my own magazines. Imagine my disappointment when the new magazines were junk. Only my 5 round mag works correctly.

I have a background in combat handgunning, and I find this unacceptable.

So, I took the 10 round magazines apart.

Imagine my surprise when I discovered that they are just a downsized, curved (for the rims) version of the 1911 magazine!

I checked the feeding, and sure enough, it's a controlled feed, just like the 1911 pistol.

Better yet, the magazine springs are modeled after the 1911 magazine springs.

I tweaked a few things and got better reliability out of them, but still not 100%. This occurs in 1911 pistols as well when you go with a larger-than-normal magazine size. Just the nature of the beast.

However, these should still work. The follower is a poor design but can be tweaked. What's really needed are good springs - these are by far the worst springs I've seen in a stock magazine. They are almost like Bic pen springs in quality!

Stretching them and giving them a lil' twist upward work for one or two mag fulls - then the spring settles back to its stock length.

What we really need is a good quality, heavy duty spring.