Notices

Join Team RFC to remove these ads.

Old 01-26-2017, 02:14 PM
TEXAS222
NRA Member - Click Here To Join!

TPC Rating: 
100% (2)
Question 10/22 lvt stock

Hello. I'm pretty new to the 10/22 & I bought a Ruger LVT. I want to buy a stock like the Tacti-Cool or Titan but I'm not sure about the barrel taper of the LVT. What stock would you recommend for a free floating barrel? Will I have to do much work on it because of the taper? Thank you,
Jim D
Old 01-26-2017, 02:20 PM
ivan

TPC Rating: 
100% (5)
The Boyds Tacticool is cut for a 920 bull barrel to float... you'll have plenty of space on the LVT.

If you'll be selling off the LVT stock, send me a PM - I want one...
Old 01-26-2017, 04:46 PM

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEXAS222 View Post
Hello. I'm pretty new to the 10/22 & I bought a Ruger LVT. I want to buy a stock like the Tacti-Cool or Titan but I'm not sure about the barrel taper of the LVT. What stock would you recommend for a free floating barrel? Will I have to do much work on it because of the taper? Thank you,
Jim D
0.920" vs 0.820" at the fore end, or 0.05" gap all around isn't much. 1/16" is 0.0625", so the gap will be less than that. Assuming you're free floating the barrel, might not matter or be too noticeable. The Titan has a built-in rear hold down (held down at the trigger group), so for free floating, that might work better, unless you're adding something to anchor the receiver when using the Tacti-Cool.

Old 01-29-2017, 03:40 AM
TEXAS222

TPC Rating: 
100% (2)
Thanks guys & if I buy another I'll email you about the stock.
Jim D
Old 01-29-2017, 08:08 AM

TPC Rating: 
0% (0)
Look through the multi page Titan thread for pics of an LVT in a Titan. I posted them of mine in that thread.
Old 01-29-2017, 08:58 AM

TPC Rating: 
100% (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEXAS222 View Post
Jim D